It is believed that the year 948 was the likeliest date of the School’s first foundation, by Abbot Wulsin. The School has experienced growth and evolution into its current status as a world-class independent school, but we are proud of our unique and important history. Although historically a boys school, girls were introduced to Sixth Form from 1993. For those of you who are unaware of what the Old Albanian Association is, we are a community made up of former pupils and former staff with an aim to build and maintain relationships after leaving the School. One way in which we support this development is by hosting up to 30 events a year and maintaining the spirit of our OA sports clubs.

The OA Association was first established in 1891 as the ‘Old Boys Club’ and was later renamed as the ‘Old Albanian Club’ in 1919, following the First World War which sadly claimed the lives of 87 Old Boys. The OAs immediately began to raise funds for a war memorial in their honour which still stands today in Upper Yard. More recently in 2018, the Club was renamed as the ‘Old Albanian Association’ to reflect the ever-changing environment and to encompass the School as a whole.

We are very fortunate to have an active OA community and our sports clubs continue to recruit players every year. If you are interested in finding out more about the OA Association or the related sports clubs then please do have a look below for contact details.

To keep up with current OA and School news, please make sure you have updated your communication preferences and subscribed to our mailing list. We send an upcoming events mailing and Versa magazine biannually. You can also follow our Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Flickr pages, or sign up to a hard copy of Versa here.

OA ASSOCIATION
President
Mike Hodge
07774 161624
mike@mikehodge.co.uk
Secretary
David Buxton
01727 840499
davidbuxton36@gmail.com
Treasurer
David Hughes
07701 027881
hughespost@hotmail.co.uk
Membership Secretary
Roger Cook
01727 836877
rogercook@btinternet.com
Hon. Auditor
Peter Dew
01582 453773
peter.a.dew@btinternet.com
OA SPORTS
RUGBY
www.oarugby.com
President
Richard Milnes
07940 255355
richard.milnes@oarugby.com
Chairman
Rory Davis
07748 146521
rory.davis@oarugby.com
Hon. Treasurer
Rick Powdrell
07795 200125
rick.powdrell@oarugby.com
Hon. Secretary
Peter Lipscomb
07856 240229
peter.lipscomb@oarugby.com
Mini Chairman
Mike Fisher
07799 345807
mike.fisher@oarugby.com
Junior Chairman
Ian Tomlins
07867 971585
ian.tomlins@oarugby.com
OA Saints Chairperson
Julia Holmes
07971 238928
julia.holmes@oarugby.com
FOOTBALL
President
Nick Jackson
oldalbaniansfc@gmail.com
CRICKET
www.oacc.org.uk
Chairman
David Goodier
07796 551657
davidgoodier@hotmail.com
President
Richard Morgan
01727 843844
richard.morgan50@btinternet.com
Director of Cricket
Simon Bates
07720 838600
simon.bates@s2mprofits.co.uk
Treasurer
Richard Ransley
07878 499432
richransley@gmail.com
Secretary
Alison Finley
01727 853985
ajfinley@ntlworld.com
TENNIS
www.oatennis.com
Membership Enquiries
Maureen Harcourt
07710 270361
m.harcourt@ntlworld.com
RIFLE & PISTOL
www.oashooting.com
President
Owen Simmons
01438 840674
olsandpjs@aol.com
Captain
Andrew Wilkie
01202 424190
Andrew.wilkie@ymail.com
Treasurer
Andrew Moore
01984 641539
caroline985moore@btinternet.com
GOLF
Captain
Peter Dredge
01582 834572
pjdredge42@aol.com
Hon. Secretary
Kevin O'Donoghue
01525 758356
kevin.odonoghue19@gmail.com
OA LODGE
Assistant Secretary
John Williams
01438 715679
johntwilliams@talktalk.net
 
If you would like to get in touch with the Development Office, please click here.

Versa magazine

Versa is a biannual publication and will be published every autumn and spring term.

Read the latest magazine online

 

Upcoming events

See what's coming up, and book your tickets online.

See the latest events

BURSARY FUND CAMPAIGN

Download and print a paper version of the Bursary Fund campaign brochure.

Download the brochure (PDF)

Bursary Fund - Year Group Giving

Download and print a paper version of the Bursary Fund - Year Group Giving brochure.

Download the brochure (PDF)

GATEWAY SOCIETY BROCHURE

Download and print a paper version of the Gateway Society brochure.

Download the brochure (PDF)

2017-18 Annual Report

Download and print a paper version of the 2017-18 Annual Report.

Download the report (PDF)

Copyright 2019 St Albans School